Skip to content

Next Level Turboland?

June 29, 2010

Sorry for the long delay since my last post but I’ve been heavy in the whirlwind that is Standard.  This standard format has been evolving faster than any standard that I can remember.  It’s been a headache but also a very exciting time to be a deck builder.  The most recent evolutions in the format are the rise of Turboland and Next Level Naya and of the two the most talked about is Turboland.  The pros are all saying ‘yes, it’s a real deck’ so I had to give it a try at the most recent St. Louis StarCityGames.com 5k.

First here’s my list:

Creatures: 13
4x Lotus Cobra
4x Oracle of Mul Daya
3x Avenger of Zendikar
1x Rampaging Baloth
1x Mnemonic Wall

Planeswalkers: 4
2x Jace, the Mind Sculptor
2x Garruk Wildspeaker

Sorceries: 15
1x All is Dust
4x Rampant Growth
4x Explore
4x Time Warp
2x Mind Spring

Lands: 28
4x Halimar Depths
4x Khalni Garden
4x Tectonic Edge
4x Misty Rainforest
1x Scalding Tarn
6x Forest
5x Islands

Sideboard:
4x Forked Bolt
1x Mountain
1x Vapor Snare
1x Mind Control
2x Roil Elemental
2x Deprive
4x Spreading Seas

A few things I need to explain about my list to begin with.  First of all I should have ran 4 Jace, the Mind Sculptor and I fully intended to but two of the ones I was planning to borrow got lent out to another player.  Oh well.  Sure I could spend the $160 and buy a pair to finish the deck but honestly I’d have to Top 4 to even make money on the day if I do that.  Not worth it for a cash event like this in my opinion.  Now if this were a PTQ or a Grand Prix I would consider the purchase because more than cash is on the line.

The one of Mnemonic Wall is basically a fifth Time Warp or third Mind Spring.  It does a lot for the deck and I don’t regret the inclusion at all.  That card isn’t such a weird addition and I think should be an auto one of.

Turboland can’t usually combo fast enough to beat Mythic.  It’s a really really tough match up and Naya isn’t a great fight either if they play sparkmages someplace in the list.  To help fight these little X/1 mana creatures and pingers I added Forked Bolt in the board to give me a way to possibly slow them down or removal problem creatures.  Sadly, I didn’t get to test this like I hoped but they did come in for a match as I’ll talk about later.

The other change to my SB from the more stock list would be the addition of Spreading Seas.  Jund is around 50% and to fight them most Turboland decks use Narcolepsy.  I do not like that card in the sideboard so, I audible to the old trusty way to fight Jund.  It was also to simply board these in for my four main deck Explores.

On to the event: 330ish players, 9 rounds

Round 1: Jund with main deck Cunning Sparkmages and Master of the Wild Hunts…Of course. This is a poor match up that’s been metagamed to beat Mythic which means they have like 70%-80% against me.  I lose 2 quick games and am off to a roaring start.

1-1 (0-2)

Round 2: G/R Eldrazi Monument. Some odd homebrew that didn’t strike me as very well tuned.  Game 1 was a blow out win for me with a quick combo.  Game 2 I board in the Forked Bolts since he plays about 12 mana guys.  My opener has Mountain and Forked Bolt…KEEP!  I kill a Llanowar Elves and Treespeaker on my turn 2 but then the game stalls as I don’t draw gas.  He plays a bunch of guys and I drop an Avenger.  He is forced to Earthquake away both sides.  We play draw go till he gets a Lord of Shatterskull pass and I respond with top deck Jace that had to keep bouncing the leveler. Eventually I draw gas and he doesn’t have an earthquake.

1-1 (2-2)

Round 3:  Old Style Jund.  I win game one on the play due to quick combo.  Game two I have spreading seas and slow him down but his removal keeps my mana guys in check and he beats me down.  Game 3 on the play I wreck him with seas and keep him off his spells long enough to combo out again.  Nothing exciting.

2-1 (4-3)

Round 4:  I’m blanking on this. I know I lost in three games.

2-2 (5-5)

Round 5:  Jund with mother-freaking sparkmages again.  Didn’t mention this earlier but somehow my opponents have had turn 3 sparkmages every time if they play them main.  I lose in 2 and drop.

2-3 (5-7)

I blame myself for doing so poorly on the day.  I played well and didn’t make a bunch of mistakes that cost me the game but I made a terrible metagamed call.  Saint Louis has always been a very Jund and RDW heavy environment.  Honestly about 45% of the room was Jund and about 25% RDW at least.  If it was more I would not be surprised.  Turboland does not have a favorable match up against those decks.  Don’t know why I would have expected anything other than Jund and RDW considering that both of those decks are actually strong against the popular decks that are on the rise.

The Lotus Cobra version of Turboland seems to be critically flawed now that people know what the deck does and how to beat it.  Lotus Cobra is amazing, but I don’t think it is the right card in the deck anymore.  Also Jace seems very exposed in this deck and he is such an amazing turn three drop but rarely lives to turn five. If Jace lives to turn five it is very easy to combo off from my experience.  How would I fix this?

Defender Turboland:
4x Overgrown Battlement
4x Oracle of Mul DayaOvergrownBattlement
2x Mnemonic Wall
3x Avenger of Zendikar
1x Rampaging Baloth

4x Jace, the Mind Sculptor

4x Explore
4x Rampant Growth
4x Time Warp
2x Mind Spring

4x Halimar Depths
4x Khalni Garden
4x Tectonic Edge
4x Misty Rainforest
1x Scalding Tarn
6x Forest
5x Islands

This list is still about 2 cards off from perfect.  It’s such an upgrade though and anything beyond two defenders creates so much mana you will often Mind Spring for 10 and have mana for the follow up Time Warp.  I don’t like how the walls are all only four toughness but against Vengevines and Leeches you have some real options in the sideboard.  You can bring in Wall of Frost or even splash white for Wall of Denial for added defense.

Opponents know Lotus Cobra is powerful and they kill it as soon as possible.  Overgrown Battlements are super good in this deck and the opponent often doesn’t realize t his and ignore this.

I’m sorry but I don’t have a good sideboard for this deck still.  I liked Spreading Seas and Mind Control but that’s all I really was impressed with.  Possibly Acidic Slimes to deal with O-rings and keep opponents off mana for key spells.  Deprive seems good as does any counter.  If you can make it work I think a singleton Banefire might be a great card for control matches since counters tend to wreck this deck.  You can easily hit Emrakul mana but I don’t consider that a real SB card for this deck unless you expect a U/W counter metagame and even then Ulamog is probably better.

Thanks for reading.

Andrew

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

